Hubballi’s Rohit Kumar AC Gears Up for Ranji Trophy Debut on Home Ground


In a moment of pride for the Karnataka State Cricket Association, Dharwad Zone, local talents Rohit Kumar AC and Sujay Sateri from Belgavi have secured positions in the Karnataka Ranji team after a hiatus of more than five years.

Rohit Kumar AC, a promising cricketer from Hubballi, is all set to make his Ranji Trophy debut as Karnataka faces off against Punjab at the KSCA Hubballi Ground from January 5 to 8. This left-arm spinner, associated with the Hubballi Sports Club, has ascended the ranks through impressive performances at the under-19, under-23, and under-25 levels for Karnataka.

Veeranna Savadi, Chairman of the KSCA Dharwad Zone, expressed immense pride in Rohit’s selection, stating, “We have high hopes for him in the tournament, and we know he has the talent and drive to excel, and one day he might even don the blue jersey for India.”

Hubballi is hosting the seventh Ranji match at the KSCA stadium in Raj Nagar. The Ranji match returns to Hubballi after a gap of three years, with the last match played in 2019. Nikhil Bhusad, Convenor of KSCA, Dharwad Zone, highlighted the significance of this event.

The experienced opener, Mayank Agarwal, will lead the Karnataka Ranji team, featuring players like Ravikumar Samarth, Devdutt Padikkal, Nikin Jose (vc), Manish Pandey, Shubhang Hegde, Sharath Srinivas (wk), Vysakh Vijayakumar, Vasuki Koushik, Vidwath Kaverappa, K Shashikumar, Sujay Sateri (wk), D Nischal, M Venkatesh, Kishan S Bedare, and AC Rohit Kumar.

Source: TOI

Related News