Sahitya Akademi Unveils Literary Triumphs: Annual Awards Across 24 Languages


In a celebration of literary excellence, the Sahitya Akademi has declared the recipients of the Annual Sahitya Akademi Awards for the year 2023, spanning 24 diverse languages. The announcement, featuring accolades in categories such as Poetry, Novels, Short Stories, Essays, and Literary Studies, marks a profound acknowledgment of outstanding contributions to the world of literature.

The distinguished panel of jurors, representing various linguistic domains, meticulously recommended the works that caught their discerning eyes. The Executive Board of the Sahitya Akademi, convened under the leadership of Sri Madhav Kaushik, President of Sahitya Akademi, gave its nod to the selections during a meeting held on 20th December 2023.

Category-wise List of Awardees:


  • Vijay Verma (Dogri)
  • Vinod Joshi (Gujarati)
  • Manshoor Banihali (Kashmiri)
  • Sorokkhaibam Gambhini (Manipuri)
  • Ashutosh Parida (Odia)
  • Swarnjit Savi (Punjabi)
  • Gaje Singh Rajpurohit (Rajasthani)
  • Arun Ranjan Mishra (Sanskrit)
  • Vinod Asudani (Sindhi)


  • Swapnamay Chakrabarti (Bengali)
  • Neelum Saran Gour (English)
  • Sanjeev (Hindi)
  • Krushnat Khot (Marathi)
  • Rajasekaran (Devibharathi) (Tamil)
  • Sadiqua Nawab Saher (Urdu)

Short Stories:

  • Pranavjyoti Deka (Assamese)
  • Nandeswar Daimari (Bodo)
  • Prakash S. Parienkar (Konkani)
  • Taraceen Baskey (Turia Chand Baskey) (Santali)
  • T. Patanjali Sastry (Telugu)


  • Lakshmisha Tolpadi (Kannada)
  • Basukinath Jha (Maithili)
  • Judhabir Rana (Nepali)

Literary Study:

  • E.V. Ramakrishnan (Malayalam)

The selection process adhered to a meticulous procedure, with the Executive Board bestowing the awards based on unanimous selections or majority votes by the jurors. The recognized works encompass books published in the five years preceding the award year, spanning from 1st January 2017 to 31st December 2021.

The prestigious award, symbolized by a casket housing an engraved copper plaque, a shawl, and a cash prize of Rs. 1,00,000/- for each recipient, will be officially presented at a grand ceremony on 12th March 2024. The Kamani Auditorium, situated on Copernicus Marg, New Delhi, will set the stage for honoring the literary luminaries whose contributions have enriched the diverse tapestry of Indian literature.

Posted On: 21 DEC 2023 4:29PM by PIB Delhi

Related News